TravellerReviews

Cowboy Country

review_img

BAld

Cowboy Country-Wyoming Pretty Good

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The trip was pretty good. The scenery in the National Parks was breathtaking. But as a family BRIDGES trip, not much on the agenda for family or group activities for the first few days. Later in cowboy country there was horseback riding, etc. which gave he kids more things to do. People were "on their own"more than Tauck planned activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Staying at the cowboy ranch and horseback riding, as well as seeing Mt. Rushmore.

review_img

misskc1

Unforgettable experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

I took my daughter and two grandchildren, who had never been to the west. Showing them the wonders of this country with people who became our friends was wonderful. Our Tauck Director and motor coach driver were real pros guiding us through unforgettable sights and experiences. I think we were amazed at how quickly the kids bonded and they still keep in touch. Loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in to the cowboy dinner with all the kids there wearing cowboy hats and mustaches. Then they line danced together. I'm still laughing!

review_img

DBlock

Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We travelled with our grandson. We all had a great time. We had already seen the sights but seeing them through the eyes of a twelve year old was fantastic. Our tour guide and bus driver were children oriented.

Most Memorable Moment:

What we found memorable was seeing a black bear and her cubs. The mama bear was rolling and then breaking open a log and the cubs were scampering up and down a tree.

review_img

Raven1

Putting Wow in the West!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our 50th Anniversary Trip was just about perfect! We travelled with son, daughter-in-law and three grandchildren on the Cowboy Country Bridges trip. Thanks to terrific tour director and our bus driver, everyone in our family had a wonderful week. Yellowstone Park and the Grand Tetons were special.

Most Memorable Moment:

On one special day on the bus we spotted a mama black bear and her cubs. The mama bear was digging for food in a log while the cubs climbed up a tree. Next we spotted elk close to the road, and then a grizzly bear. What a day!

review_img

Jack Sal

Bridges Cowboy Country YYN 10

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We travelled with our three grand children ages 16,15,10. We spent two days in the Tetons, two days at Yellowstone, one day in Cody Wyoming where we attended a rodeo and visited the Buffalo Bill Wild West Museum which was fantastic, one day at U Cross Ranch for a trail ride and finally one day visiting Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Old Faithful for the first time with our grand children. We as well as they thought this was the highlight of the trip. Our tour Director was awesome.

review_img

john connor

Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Great trip. Wonderful tour director and driver. Super fun for our granddaughters 11, and 16.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several- hiking the boardwalk in Yellowstone, spotting bospn, elk, fox, and moose, river trip down the snake river.

review_img

Auntie Debbie

Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was my 17th Tauck Tour and my two great nephews first, the only thing that I can say about this trip is the boys loved it. They want to know, "Where are we going next year, we are doing this every year correct?" The boys loved the Tauck Director and the motor coach driver!

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching my great-nephews discovering the world of travel. They now know the difference between being a tourist and a traveller.

review_img

GZiegler

Bridges Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our trip began with a flight to Jackson, Wyoming. When we landed at the airport, it was breath taking to see the Grand Tetons so close; it felt like we could touch them. We enjoyed our float trip down the Snake River. The guide was terrific pointing out elk and bald eagles. Yellowstone was spectacular; fun to go to a ranch and see horse whisperer

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour director made the trip fun for all ages. It was a special time to spend with our 3 grandchildren and their parents. Everyone we met was most accommodating. The scenery at Yellowstone was breath taking. We learned so much about the changing landscape. This was our fourth Tauck Trip and, as always, it was run beautifully.

review_img

bagdad

Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Wish all of the rooms we stayed in had air-condition and TV's. We did wish that our tour guide would turn the microphone up louder so that all could hear him better. Also, when someone asked a question, our tour guide did not answer using the microphone, so we never knew what he said. Overall, we enjoyed our trip out west very much.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of the Grand Teton Mountains and the Big Horn Mountains!!!

review_img

Lewis Gravely

The Best of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our Cowboy Country tour was with our 10 year old grandson. After completing the tour he told his parents that "It was better than a week at camp." I believe that says it all. We toured the high country of Wyoming, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, South Dakota and Mt. Rushmore. Every aspect was superbly organised by our tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Grand Teton range backlit by the setting sun and seeing Old Faithful erupting backlit by dark massive thunder clouds. The power and majesty of nature can really impress!

review_img

Lizcraven

We loved it!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was a great trip. We brought our two grandsons, ages 8 and 11, and their aunt (our daughter). We went to Jackson Lake Lodge a day ahead so we could rest from the flight and we stayed an extra day at the K Bar S Ranch for decompression. The travel group was terrific. It was very special for us to experience 3 national parks with our grandsons.

Most Memorable Moment:

Grandpa says the rafting on the Snake River. We had an outstanding guide. We agree that spending time with the boys was very special. Watching them play and bond with the other children was great. Hearing them tell their parents about the various events was most rewarding. It is a very well-planned trip. We are fortunate to have the experience.

review_img

carolinacaletti

Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

I thought it was really well done. The people were really friendly, staff, guides, bus driver, I mean, really impressive. Our tour guide was an absolute darling, kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip. The people on the tour were a lot of fun and the kids really enjoyed themselves, even detected a little sadness at the end!

Most Memorable Moment:

I personally really enjoyed the ranch at UCross, it was a great facility. Probably could have stayed an extra day. lots of stuff there for the kids to do.

review_img

MBattle2

Tauck Bridges Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Great job connecting the younger people with one another. Our granddaughter loved the trip and will have many memories for years go come. Loved visiting Yellowstone. Grand Tetons, the two ranches and tours by local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was when our granddaughter won the barrel race in the corral. She was grinning from ear to ear.

review_img

John Stover

Bridges Cowboy Trail Our New Family Favourite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our 3 generation family, Grandparents, parents, two grandchildren wanted a trip to Yellowstone and Mt Rushmore. Our USAA travel agent recommended Tauck's Cowboy Trail Bridges. We couldn't have been more pleased. Beautiful scenery, lovely accommodations, excellent food, great tour director and what could beat a family trail ride and a rodeo? Do it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our room in the Old Faithful Inn overlooking the geyser watching numerous eruptions, all different. Second best was the six of us on a trail ride at the TA ranch. It just seemed like a magical time. So hard to find a trip that accommodates all ages. This Bridges tour met that important requirement. No bored teenagers on this trip. Tks to the Tauck Director.

review_img

DP99

Trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic. We did the Bridges tour of Cowboy Country. The trip included "lanyaps" which are freebies and surprises several times that the tour guide gives us. She had a way of keeping the bus rides very interesting.She told a lot of stories about each stop and made everyone feel special.Food/lodge was the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

We saw a herd of elk. Sommer said it was only her 2nd time to see that. When we were told to get a meal - we were allowed to order anything from the menu. We stopped, got out of bus and watched Bison on the side of road. Yellowstone geysers were the best.Got an education about the volcano, forest fires, wolves. Our bus seats were changed every day.

review_img

Grammy T

Bridges' Cowboy Country Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

I understood that this was a "family" trip--designed for kids. An old geezer on our bus shouldn't have been on the trip.Evidently, he did not like kids;complained about kids kicking the back of his seat and others throwing food. Not true!! Make sure that people understand this is a trip for children.If you don't like kids, don't go on this trip!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Crazy Horse Memorial--unbelievable!!

review_img

Post Office

Cowboy Country Family

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Once again Tauck Family Discovery trips has outdone itself with sights and activities for all ages. Families could be together or the children could spend time getting to know the other youths in the tour group. Parents and grandparents of all were encouraged to interact and friendships were made.

Most Memorable Moment:

Other than fulfilling items on my "Bucket List"...Old Faithful. ...Seeing bison in the wild, Mt Rushmore, ....watching my grandson and son ride horses off onto the distance trail with smiles of pleasure on their faces was one of my great memories.

review_img

Santa Fe

Excellent with qualifications-3.5 stars

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Overall an excellent trip. Wonderful scenery and we had a great tour guide. Tauck takes excellent care of you and keeps you informed. Weaknesses: (1) we were able to explore the Grand Tetons only around Jackson Lake Lodge; (2) wildlife viewings in Yellowstone were too brief, limited to fast "drivebys"; (3) the last 3 tour days were not as enjoyable

Most Memorable Moment:

No single moment-just spending a week with our 2 grandchildren in a beautiful area was special. We all enjoyed the raft trip, a horseback ride we took before the tour started (the ride on the tour was short and uninteresting), the gorgeous Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Would recommend arriving in Jackson a day or two early to explore on your own.

review_img

Grandma Judy

Great experience for all ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on. Tauck goes the extra mile with all the little extras we were surprised with all thru the trip. Our tour leader was superb. I cannot say enough nice things about him. His repore with the children was wonderful and they loved him. We did so many wonderful things. The afternoon at ranch was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments. This was the first time either my granddaughter or I had ever been to this part of our great country. When we stepped off the plane in Jackson and saw the mountains it was awesome. We loved the raft trip. Going to artist point in Yellowstone was amazing. Seeing the wildlife. The rodeo in Cody was one of our favs.

review_img

LarrySC

Cowboy country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Grandchildren enjoyed the trip and we enjoyed watching them experience something new. Our tour leader and driver did a great job. Would suggest a minimum age for children. Some cared less about what was going on. Also suggest Tauck clarify ages for children doing the trail ride. Our 10 year old was only able to ride in a very small corral.

Most Memorable Moment:

A lot of moments like seeing an eagle on the float trip, bison herd crossing the road in front of us and spotting moose. The ranch at Ucross was a great stop. Lots of room and activities available for the kids.

review_img

J Nakagawa

Terrific all around

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

We wanted to go somewhere as a family (three generations and seven of us) and chose this tour. I had heard great things about Tauck and they did not disappoint. I've been on land tours before, but this one was the best by far. Our tour guide, John, kept us all organised and we had fun too - what a challenge! I am looking forward to another.

Most Memorable Moment:

A pick-up soccer game where all the kids got involved. For not knowing each other, there was a camaraderie that developed that was surprising. One of my nephews (14 years old) is a bit shy with others, but he was soon in the thick of things. I watched as kids who had very little in common hung out together and bonded over the course of a week.

review_img

HDykes

Perfect for Teenage Grandchildren

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our two grandchildren loved the trip and it was geared for them. Our granddaughter loved Sommer, our tour director. She kept the kids busy, even on the bus, with challenges and stories. I would recommend this trip highly for grandparents and parents with children ages 7-17.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved seeing the kids participate in the rodeo!

review_img

dbrociner

Great time in Cowboy Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

We went hoping to show our kids, ages 11 & 8, the beauty of the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone and the history of Mt. Rushmore. We also wanted a Bridges holiday because we hoped the kids would have fun with other kids along the way. Thanks to our Tauck tour guide Sommer and a great group of other guests our hopes were realized. A great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The night spent at the U Cross ranch was great because we had all gotten to know each other and the kids had a blast. Also, the lighting ceremony at Mt. Rushmore is something that every American should get the chance to see, moving and memorable.

review_img

Alison B

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

We loved Cowboy Country! We took our 8 year old son and he had a great time. The naturalist who accompanied our tour of Yellowstone was great!! My son liked the pelts and skulls he brought on board as well as the heat sensor. Unfortunately, 2 of the children weren't well-behaved and the parents were not considerate of others either. So it goes...

Most Memorable Moment:

Our favourite part was the time we spent at the Ranch at U Cross.

review_img

Geri

Tetons - a great experience for everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Tetons are sensational - a visual highlight for all ages. 10 of us from 70 to 5 yrs had a great time. Wonderful learning experience for the kids to appreciate our Nat'l Parks. Kids banded together - adults got a break. Great tour guide & naturalists at parks engaged kids. Lodges were terrific as well as rodeo, but food in SD was awful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip along the Snake River was visually stunning and enjoyable.

review_img

kdander

Incredible experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Our family of five (kids ages 14, 12, and 8) absolutely loved this trip! We gained so much more insight into the attractions with Tauck than we would have on our own. Every minute of our holiday was inspirational, educational, fun-filled and action-packed! We all made new friends, and we loved our tour director Sommer and driver Verna!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our family loved walking the Morning Glory trail in Yellowstone. We saw a coyote and her 2 pups along the route, and also felt the earth shake below us at the Black Sand Pond. There is nothing like waking up in Yellowstone and watching Old Faithful erupt right outside your window.

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveller

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button