TravellerReviews

French Escapade: Monte-Carlo to Paris - Northbound

review_img

kermit

French Escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our second Tauck river cruise, we loved every minute of this one! This tour was well paced with plenty of free time. The ship, Swiss Emerald has been freshly renovated, our cat 7 suite was spacious and totally enjoyed all the evening team trivia tournaments-more pl. Food was excellent but we would have liked more locally sourced food products

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed going with the chef to local food markets and hearing them talk about different wines and foods of the region. Special shout out to the Tauck staff - they went out of their way to accommodate any request. Buses and bus drivers excellent!

review_img

rbolcoho

Not the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Using the Danube trip as a pre-existing expectation, we were a little disappointed in the Rhone trip. Too much bus time for us. Time on the ship was great, Paris hotel room was a little tired. The last night dinner was a major let-down in quality and choice. However, the chateaus were great as was the visit to the delta region. A mixed trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the chateaus for wine tasting was great. Watching the bulls was a highlight

review_img

mmickelson

Rhone river cruise Nice to Lyon

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The Very Good: The accommodations on the boat were excellent as was the service, the food and the beverages. The day trips were to very interesting locations, and there was a good amount of interaction among the passengers. The Good: Tauck guides average based on other Tauck trips The Bad. you must allow 4 hours to depart CDG airport

Most Memorable Moment:

The interaction we had with the other Truck travellers.

review_img

Phil Gilberto

River Cruise Monte Carlo to Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was our first Tauck trip and I must say I was a little disappointed. The staff and crew were outstanding as was the ship. I cannot say the same for many of the excursions. There was too much time on the bus and the tour guides did way too much talking and not enough moving. Pace was way too slow for us. Other passengers were older than us.

Most Memorable Moment:

This review does not allow enough space to comment.

review_img

Travelcrazy

Been There - Done Some of That

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

I took this cruise because it went to a few different places than the Taste of France cruise I did in 2014. I love starting in Paris and the parts of Provence we visited - having been there before, I was able to do things on my own. I could have done without Monte Carlo and spent more time in Nice, which is where the return airport is.

Most Memorable Moment:

As on the Taste of France, I really enjoyed the lunch and visit to the ranch in the Camargue - this time the demonstration with the bulls was much more interesting and entertaining. I also enjoyed shopping with the chef in Avignon. Being a horse person, I liked visiting the French National Stud in Cluny...wish we had more time there.

review_img

jrspievak

First timers to Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We signed up for our first trip to Europe with the Tauck French Escape tour. We were worried about what we could be doing on a riverboat for 9 night. Well, wow! We did so much. Tauck provide great local guides at every stop and planned such great excursions. What a wonderful travel and educational experience. Can't wait to plan our next Tauck trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tasking Grand Crux French wine in a 600 year old chateau that has been in the family for 22 generations.

review_img

gerirhall

While nothing can compare to the Budapest to Amsterdam trip....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The French waterways trip was just fabulous. We had the usual Tauck impeccable accommodations and food. The guides and venues were wonderful. It was just a fabulous trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Touring and boating across Lyon 2. The lecture on the French Resistance Fighters of WWII 3. The fabulous guide we had at the Louvre

review_img

ccmerriman

First time Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Fantastic trip! We are new Tauck believers! Great guides, staff, etc.Attention to detail..Food incredible-even gave us recipes when we asked!Many activities to pick/choose.. we had a favourite guide! Coaches- very comfortable w/AC.Learned alot w/plenty of fun! Mixing two large groups from two different trips-not a good idea...

Most Memorable Moment:

We met 3 other couples from all over the US....They made the trip for us! We bonded so well that we already have a trip planned together for next year..Having cocktails in the evening on the Sundeck w/ our new friends watching the lights on shore go by....Amazing!

review_img

Woody and Margie

Sensational Trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We truly enjoyed every moment of the trip from city stays in Monte Carlo and Paris to bus trips through Provence to the incredible river cruise on the Swiss Emerald. The tour guides were superb as were the crew members on the Swiss Emerald. The selection of sites for excursions and local tour guides were truly remarkable. Thank you!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The walking tour through Viviers. The city and tour guide provided memories that we will never forget!

review_img

Lucietta

cheeses,wine and chateaus!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We really enjoyed cruising along the Rhone and Saone Rivers. We especially loved all the little towns in Provence. The cruise staff was extremely attentive.The food on the ship was good but not great and not very French. We had great meals when we were on our own.However, the dinner at Fouquet's was outstanding and the wines were really good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The open market of Nice. It was so much fun sampling different exotic foods. We loved the breads, pates and the variety of cheeses and of course the wine.

review_img

pgseas

WONDERFUL, BUT OVERPRICED

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Long time travellers, initial trip om Tauck. The overall professionalism and loogistics were second to none. Everything happened when it should have happened. That being said there were disappointments. The on board entertainment was well below expectation, the room was poorly lit with uncomfortable chairs and we spent Sunday in Monte Carlo whic

Most Memorable Moment:

HIGHLIGHTS -- GREAT HOTELS, TAUCK STAFF, WONDERFUL ITINERARY. LOWLIGHTS -- OUR SIDE OF SHIP WAS IN THE DARK EVERY DAY DUE TO DOUBLE DOCKING, SPENT SUNDAY IN MONTE CARLO WHEN CITY WAS CLOSED, FAREWELL DINNER WAS POOR. TRAVEL A LOT WITH REGENT, AND AS A COMPARISON, THE TAUCK VALUE FELL WELL SHORT. 4 STAR RATING ABOVE COULD GAVE EASILY BEEN A THREE

review_img

brooney

Cruising French Wine country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We had a great trip and relaxing holiday even though the weather was cold, windy, and raining through our stay in Paris and the first part of the cruise on the Saone river. The high water receded just enough for us to clear the first bridge by about half an inch. The skill of the captain and crew was exempilary, as wel as the rest of the wait crew

Most Memorable Moment:

The wine tasting at the French Chateau in Burgundy and the lunch and show at the ranch in the Camargue. However the dinner at famed Paul Bocuse and the final dinner at the Monte Carlo Fairmont was disappointing. That hotel should be changed for reasons too numerous to list here. I can't say enough about the "service with a smile" of the ship's crew

review_img

Pager

French Escapade - Fabulous River Cruise Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

From start to finish, the river cruise was fabulous. Every detail was organised, hand-picked, and stress-free for us. Wow, Tauck, I'm impressed. We are already planning our next escapade!

Most Memorable Moment:

Talking to the owners of the ranch at Camargue, the bakers in a boulangerie, and the owner of a chateau that has passed down through the family for several hundred years.

review_img

carlacara

Fall in Love with French Autumn

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our trip began in Monte Carlo and ended in Paris, with a stop-over in Lyon. All beautiful cities connected by the amazing splendor of golden autumn on the Rhône and Saône Rivers, with vineyards, small villages, and castles. How perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving in Paris and driving through the city listening to all my colleagues and friends ohhh and ahhhh.

review_img

chanepp

French Escapade: Paris to Monte- Carlo

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The Tauck staff were absolutely outstanding. It was first class service from the moment the trip started to the last goodbye.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick just one memorable moment, there were so many. It was always nice at the end of the day to get together with everyone and review the days events with a good glass of wine and a fabulous dinner.

review_img

Donn

French Escapade - Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Starting in Monte-Carlo was a great way to begin. Once on the Swiss Emerald the journey was fabulous. All the stops were interesting and the local guides, along with our Tauck Directors, were the most knowledge and helpful you could ever find. The variety of activities(tours, lunches, wine tastings) during the trip made it most interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding through the burgundy region and observing all of the small towns and vineyards made me want to go back and spend time on my own exploring the region in greater depth. I've been to Paris many times, but discovering the Orangerie Museum was a true pleasure. The Monet Waterlilies exhibit is not to be missed.

review_img

Mallek Charles

French escapade cruise just right

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

All the amenities that we expect from Tauck made this an excellent trip. The ship, services, daily pace and experiences matched our wish list. Though not advertised as that, it was an added feature to be a true "foodie" trip, both on and off the ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour/luncheon at a chateau/winery was truly a Provence moment.

review_img

SharonM

French Escapade-Monte Carlo to Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The guides on the day trips were wonderful. It is so satisfying to see new places and things while being educated by a knowledgeable guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking out of the Casino of Monte Carlo a true winner.

review_img

MGiordano

Love River Cruising

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

French Escapade Southbound was our first river cruise. It was a wonderful experience. Though we have travelled with Tauck previously, this was probably right at the top of our favorites. Would definitely consider another river cruise. Love the fact that we can unpack for several days and just enjoy the adventures.

review_img

JimK-9

Stomping the vineyards during the "French Escapade"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

What has to be mentioned first is the absolute joy of serving that the crew of the Swiss Emerald showed. The journeys through the southern France countryside was highlighted by visits to the warm, informative, "proud" owners of chateaus and vineyards. Tales of rebellion turned to appreciation & keeping the chateaus intact were heart warming.

Most Memorable Moment:

Inside the little Romanesque church in the village of Cluny, with our voices echoing throughout the church, we all became silent. Our local tour guide had started a "Gregorian" chant in a beautiful soprano voice. Both my wife and I stood transfixed with tears in our eyes, listening to her voice swirl and reverberate off the stone walls.

review_img

Martell

"Martell French Escapade" Our First River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Words like outstanding and seamless are the ones that first come to mind. From the Driver Picking us up at the Airport in Nice, France to the one taking us to Charles de Gaulle Airport in Paris. 15 wonderful days!

Most Memorable Moment:

There was more than one.On a scale of 1 to 10, nothing was below 9. The lunch at Chateau Pruzilly hosted by Owners Jean-Paul and Anna was a highlight of the trip and was sequenced at a perfect time around the middle-end of trip.

review_img

bkmartell

Best holiday ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Every aspect of this trip was fantastic. From the pickup at the Nice airport all the way through to being dropped off at the Paris airport. Everything was seamless! Nothing was hurried at all. The meals onboard the riverboat as well as on our day trips were wonderful and the staff was so very friendly. Our Tauck directors were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to pick just one. The views along the rivers were exceptional and very relaxing. My two favourite cities were Vienne and Chalone sur Saone. Would love to spend more time there.

review_img

dl5196

Southbound Paris to Monte Carlo - Spoiled me for future Holidays

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was the first Tauck Holiday I have taken and I'm afraid they have probably spoiled me for any future trips with other companies. It is so nice not to have to worry about any of the little details you normally have to worry about when travelling internationally. The food was wonderful, the staff was very friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are way to many memorable moments to name just one - lets just say for a history major being able to step into a town that looks almost the same as it did 500 -1000 years ago is truly amazing. It has always amazed me that building built in the 14th & 15th century's are still standing when stuff made in the 20th century does not last.

review_img

OzJohnno

River Cruising - The only way to travel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This is an outstanding cruise that fizzes at the end in Monte Carlo. Loved Paris and the trip to Lyon was fast and comfortable. The cabin, the food and most of all a superb Scylla crew on Swiss Emerald made this a memorable holiday. We loved the service and the fact that the crew quickly addressed us by name. This is a first class way to holiday.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the "ranch" in the Camargue. What a lunch and show. Seeing Viviers, a medieval village almost trapped in time. Our chance to taste many wines including the famous Chateau Nerf de Pape reds. I thought Monte Carlo and the Fairmont reduced this trip to just 4 stars. IMO stopping the tour in Nice would be better.

review_img

GGDec

Monte Carlo to Paris July, August 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

This was our first trip with Tauck. We had high expectations based on reviews and testimony from others regarding Tauck tours. The Tauck staff was exceptional and were key in making this a memorable experience for us. We were extremely satisfied with the food, boat, and hotels and excursions. We currently have another trip planned with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

We look at this whole trip as being memorable. It was a trip of a life time for us and we consider each part of the trip as a something special and memorable. We really appreciate the time and effort Tauck employees spend in making each day a unique day for their guests.

review_img

Pickle

Fun Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Surprise & great dinner at Chef Paul Bocuse's restaurant when the river flooded north of Lyon. A memorable Tauck experience.

review_img

bower628

French Escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Everything about this tour was top notch. We were treated like royalty and had a great holiday with delightful travelling companions. Learned so much about France while having a new, exciting experience every day. Thanks to Robbi, Simon, Andrea, Scott, the local guides, and the boat's crew for making this a trip to remember.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one. Loved seeing the Monet panels at L'Orangerie, the Camargue ranch, and the cathedrals...made Pillars of the Earth come alive when Phillipe sang Ave Maria in the Cluny Abbey. Travelling on the riverboat is the way to go. Loved watching the countryside as we floated by and going through the locks. Every moment was memorable!

review_img

onthego

French Escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

The trip was wonderful,great tour directors, wonderful staff on the ship, interesting sights, wonderful hotel in Paris, nice people on the trip. Also really liked the fact that all drinks were included on the ship. Would either skip Monaco or make it a day trip from Nice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising down the Rhone, going under the low bridges while sitting on deck.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip and experienced some truly memorable moments. Your comments will be passed along to our Operations Team and once again we thank you for travelling with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rslockwood

Forever Learning

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The two French guides, Pierre and Elizabeth, steeped us in French culture, enhancing each sight with anecdotes and an affinity that was as beauteous as it was enlightening.

Most Memorable Moment:

The vineyards of Macon, Cotes du Rhone, Chalons came alive. The countryside's elegance was poetic and endearing to the lover of its regional wines.

review_img

SCarnahan

French Escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I enjoyed lots of educational side trips, learned about the world of riverboats and all the while was pampered beyond expectations. It was not particularly relaxing except when we opted to stay aboard instead of joining a shore excursion. A few days added to the tour in Paris made the windup of our trip special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Special French food dinner with my best friend on Lido deck with full moon across the water.

review_img

JLCook

My French Escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I loved being taken care of so well by Tauck guides and tour personnel. I am 86 years old and got along quite well on the activities of the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Paris on the coach tour of the city.

review_img

DRJ

French Escapade south to north

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was our 2nd Tauck trip and it exceeded our expectations which were high after the first trip. From the airport transfer, Tauck directors, accommodations, the river boat staff, food, side trips and of course Paris (What am I missing?) It was truly a memorable experience. We have no suggestions or complaints, but we do have our pictures!

Most Memorable Moment:

If I suggest one memorable moment it minimizes others so to have a most memorable is impossible for me.

review_img

JFarrelly

French escapade

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was a special and wonderful trip for my husband and I. We had only been to Europe once in our 40 years of marriage and never on a cruise of any kind. Being on board for 9 days eliminated all the packing and unpacking and the combination of tours and free time was great. Our hosts on and off the ship were excellent and kind to all passengers

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was visiting a pottery shop in Vienne and buying a beautiful plate from a wonderful shopowner named Annie. Between my limited French and her limited English we made a connection that I won't forget. I'm glad I have a keepsake to remind me. My husband in the meantime was playing a game of Petanque. Fun.

review_img

winegal51

First River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I have just returned from the French Escapade and cannot say enough about the fabulous service and interesting itinerary. Pierre, Robbi, Elisabeth and Axelle were fabulous Tour Directors. They helped to make the trip every so much more special. The history, visual beauty and wines completed the experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

Playing Petanque and the Haras National Equestrian Center.

review_img

nkrieg

French Escapade - Paris to Monte Carlo

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This is the first Tauck trip that did not meet my expectations. The food was so-so. The tour groups were larger than I expected (35 to 40 in a group). I did not care for the food on the boat and was disappointed with some of the tours. Did not get to see the Louvre or the d'Orsay and just a drive by of Norte Dame. Monte Carlo was beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Breakfast at the Fairmont in Monte Carlo. Beautiful views.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that this trip fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jawoodland

French waterways

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Taken to wrong hotel, reservation at special restaurant not recorded. Guides were excellent, coaches clean and drivers excellent. Coach seating not rotating, first come first seated. First Tauck tour didn't meet expectations. Food on ship so, so at restaurants excellent. Would I travel with you again, mayb.e

Most Memorable Moment:

The sunset at hotel in Monaco

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pdavey

From 'Down Under' to 'Up There' with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

River cruising with Tauck is one of the great ways to holiday. From the moment we joined the tour until the final 'Goodbye' we were looked after in great style. We met some nice people, dined in right royal style and enjoyed our shore excursions each day. Tauck may cost a little more but rewards customers with more than expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

A sunset dinner on the Lido deck with a couple of brand new friends. Castles and vineyards floating past as we drifted on a mirror-like surface reflecting crimson clouds and inverted images of the majestic scenery.

review_img

CLyons

French Escapade Exceeded Our Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our trip was the southbound version of the French Escapade cruise. The Tour Directors were really great and facilitated a smooth experience throughout the cruise and land based beginning in Paris and the conclusion in Monte Carlo. Tauck seems to have given them latitude to do special things on behalf of their clients. Truly a memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

While we enjoyed all the planned activities, our time in Arles, where Van Gogh lived for a time, was a treat. We were able to see the actual scenes he so brilliantly interpreted in a number of his paintings. Also, we enjoyed the sail away from Avignon with a French musician playing while drinks and appetizers were served on the sun deck.

review_img

JSuggs

First River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

First river cruise in France. Monte Carlo to Paris on the Rhone and Saone rivers. Included speed train to Paris. Cruising the rivers and the daily excursions on shore were first rate. The tour guides we had for the entire trip were exceptional - always pleasant; informative; and timely. The boat crew was first rate and the dining also great.

Most Memorable Moment:

River cruising was relaxing and we met many friendly cruise mates. The historical cities and villages were pleasant stops; both informative and scenic. The busy city of Paris offered many museums and famous sights that were exciting to see for the first time.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first river cruise! This is certainly a wonderful region to visit!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

gngal

French Escapade - wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We loved every minute of our trip. Every aspect was 5 star - fabulous food, superb service and lovely and memorable sites throughout. The trip showcased all aspects of France, including medieval towns, Roman ruins, chateaus, wine tastings, monumental sites, artwork - everything you can imagine. Highly recommended trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Avignon was amazing. And certainly nothing can beat Paris for beauty and elegance.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your river cruise and returned with so many memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JGarfunkel

Monte Carlo to Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We had the most wonderful trip on the boat, great guides, especially Elisabeth. At the 5 Star Hotel Du Collectionneur, Paris everything changed. Could not get a room until 6PM Could not get coffee for over 20 min at breakfast Our locks got changed while we were out Forgot 2:30 AM wake call, to catch plane, after 3 reminders, almost missed plane

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything aboard was fantastic, well planned. The crew show was excelent, the Fairmont Hotel in Monte Carlo was great. Elisabeth, Mathew and Cynthia were outstanding, so was Tod. The whole crew was great and the dining experience was wonderful. The tours well all intersting and well planned, and we already booked on our next Tauck adventure.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey wih us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor service at the Hotel Du Collectionneur; we will be sure to share your comments with the manager who is responsible for this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

abqcajun

paris to monte carlo

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

after experiencing a missed flight at heathrow, and no pickup from the airport in paris, followed by lost luggage arriving in paris, i was all set to be further and further disappointed. i was met at the paris hotel by alex, one of the tour guides who addressed me by name when i arrived.

Most Memorable Moment:

the most memorable moment was when the tour guides adjusted everything, and began to assure me that i would be having a marvellous time from that point forward. they were correct. this is a marvellous experience that's not to be missed. the tauck employees cannot be praised enough. they make the cruise experience one that will never be forgotten.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry your trip began on such a disappointing note but very glad it all worked out!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

forshping

French Escapade, Paris to Monte Carlo on the Swiss Emerald

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

My husband and I rated this trip a 4 star and not a 5 star for several reasons. The food and service at Fouquet's restaurant was average;there was no cocktail reception prior to dinner. While the Hotel du Collectionneur is in a great location, the guest rooms are run down: furniture was chipped; curtains had holes. Restaurant waiters-not attentive.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many. Our Tauck guides were exceptional. The Swiss Emerald staff was excellent; accommodations & food top notch. We enjoyed the sites & tours. However, we would have preferred an extra day in Lyon instead of stopping in Viviers. It was interesting to visit the various chateaux; but, many of the wines we tasted were 2012 vintage & not ready.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with our product team for follow up.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bill C

We rely on Tauck to show us the world

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The riverboat was spotless. The crew could not have been more courteous or professional. Our chef shopped markets daily for fresh and delicious local ingredients at every meal. We valued smaller walking groups and opportunity for a casual walk with expert guides. The Tour Directors reaffirmed our continued reliance on Tauck to show us the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck’s commitment to our safety was demonstrated when Tour Director Pierre encouraged us to move up one row of seats at the Camargue bull ring. Had we not, the video which I have called “bull-in-my-face” might have been “bull-in-my-lap”! Priceless. Merci Pierre!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MD

Top Notch

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

My wife and I just completed our first Tauck trip. It was a combination land tour and river cruise (Paris - Rhone River - Monte Carlo). If the top rating for travel, restaurants, etc. is five star, we give Tauck a six star rating for this trip. Everything, and we do mean everything, was absolutely terrific. Well done, Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

THe MS Emerald ship was stunningly exquisite in maintenance and amenities. The on-board food was fantastic. The ship's crew was exceptionally professional and courteous. Nine days aboard her was a delight.

review_img

paul lashbrooke

Well Done

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

The trip was perfectly orchestrated. The major strength were our tour directors Pierre and Andrea. It would have been nice to have a little more free time to explore independently but that didn't detract from a great trip.

review_img

sue1908@aol.com

Paris to Monaco

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Paris was cold the beginning of April but it did not bother us since we were inside museums.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ranch in the Camarague region.

review_img

JudiQ

French Escapades River Cruise--Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

What an incredible journey! This is our first river cruise with Tauck and you have outdone even your top notch standards. The tour guides were outstanding, food on board was incredible, the cabin was excellent and ship staff was remarable. The itinerary was wonderful. We will be back for our next trip in Spring. Thanks for your excellence!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Eiffel Tower at night--magical. (Although there were so many that made this trip our best ever.)

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gus

Holiday of a Lifetime--Glorious!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Everything was superb--the Tauck tour guides, Pierre, Elizabeth, and Riu were exceptional--friendly, well informed, helpful, and entertaining. The food was divine, the scenery spectacular, our room was excellent--the whole ship was lovely and inviting! The crew was top notch in service and friendliness. A memorable experience--a dream come true!

Most Memorable Moment:

Relaxing on deck while watching the wonderful scenery float by; enjoying the smooth cruise, gentle breeze, and sound of soft waves against the riverboat! Also, the terrific meals in the beautiful dining room with interesting new friends! And exploring the ancient villages with their narrow, winding streets and old homes.

review_img

Andi teacher

"French Escapade" Monte-Carlo to Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

The Swiss Emerald is beautiful,and spotlessly clean. The cabins (200 level) were small, but very compact providing plenty of storage room for clothing and other possessions. The staff was wonderful. The Tour Directors were very knowledgeable, and concerned about your well being. Everything was well planned & taken care of. Food was plentiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything. Met lovely people. The tours were fantastic, broken into smaller groups, great local guides. You became part of the action. Never a moment with nothing to do. Plenty of wine.

review_img

crumb

River cruise of the Rhone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Wonderful trip! Felt very well taken care of by the Tauck team, everything planned out very well. We saw a lot of interesting things we never would have seen on our own. All personnel on the Swiss Emerald were very professional and definitely aimed to please, great food and events. Downsides, dinner at the Fairmont Monte Carlo,onboard Internet service

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count but Casino night onboard Swiss Emerald but definitely a highlight.

review_img

eltuchoc

Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Excellent,as almost all previous trips have been therefore we coudnt mark 5*.But, as we stated on the form,we prefer smaller groups.As usual, the performance of all the Tour Directors was outstanding-they are real professionals.Guest should contact only one of them in personal matters to avoid bothering them all.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many!

review_img

Dr. Robert l. Bass

Long coach rides, bad excursions, flat scenery parallel the high speed rail tracks.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

The stairs where a safety issue. Our original room was small and cramped. Transport from Paris to Lyon was an uncomfortable long bus ride. We had to upgrade to get a room a above sea level . Some of the tours where to shops (chocolate shop and wine store ). The scenery was flat and followed the rail tracks. There staff on the boat where great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leaving the boat.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We thank you and appreciate your candid feedback and apologize you had a poor experience. We have taken the liberty of sharing your post with our Product Operations Team who will contact you shortly to learn more.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ebass

Disappointed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

The ship was lovely once we were able to upgrade or would probably have just left the boat. The staff on the ship was great as was the food. The tours were disappointing. Visit to a candy store was a total waste.Too much time on bus. Local guides hard to understand. Left tour in Arles. Vericona & Maria great.Saw beauty of France on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Met some nice people. The horse demonstration at the Equestrian Center. The private chateux. The Camargue.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that both the ship and the itinerary fell below your expectations. A Guest Relations Specialist will be contacting you directly to discuss your feedback further.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

South Pasadena traveller

French Escapade

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Miserable trip. Inexperienced Program Directors. The ship was understaffed and poorly managed. No one on ship seemed to care. Common area so cold we spent most of our time on board in our room. Food service was rushed and constantly had to grab someone to get more wine or water. MS Emnerald should be sunk.

Most Memorable Moment:

Monte Carlo is a real treat. Great people watching and wonderful ocean scenery from room.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that many aspects of this journey fell below your expecations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jack Craig

Riverboating

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Typical of Tauck the whole trip went very smoothly. A great mixture of organised events, time on our own and just relaxing as a bit a France went by. The guides and tour directors were very good and gave a good insight into the history and present day aspects of France and French life.

Most Memorable Moment:

Paris is just one of the worlds greatest cities-very hard to beat.

review_img

traveler259

France At It's Best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

French Escapades was a wonderful, relaxing river adventure down the Saone and Rhone Rivers in France. The ship, staff, and especially the Tauck directors were the best. We saw the quaint villages of interior France on this voyage. It was like stepping back in time. The trip was the perfect mix of guided tours and free time. Well done, Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were docked in Avignon, France when the country celebrated Bastille Day. The ship stayed an extra night in Avignon so we could see the wonderful fireworks display on the Rhone River. Our captain was given permission to move the ship to the center of the River so everyone had the best view of the fireworks display. Very special!

review_img

dgfairchild

French Escapade-Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Esther, Lydia, Simon and Veronica were delightful travelling companions and they made for a smooth pleasurable excursion, were helpful in all respects and it would be great to be able to travel with them again on another Tauck adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

The special dinner that was arranged as a surprise by the staff. What a kick!

review_img

117sunrise

Seasoned Traveller

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

The people make the trip. Having a fairly homogenous group of people who are similarly aged, professional and educated makes for great shared travel experiences. We all seemed to not mind being herded by our excellent guides who kept us on the go all the time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great first class dinner with our new friends the last evening of trip. Hope to run into some of then again.

review_img

Photoguy

French Buffet (Monaco to Paris Mid April)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Best to describe as a french buffet with a touch of Tauck class , variety in transportation, scenery, food, culture and well guided tour of what makes France french. A tidal wave of info, so sit back and simply take it as it comes. With our trip 4 days in the Nice area then 10 on the Emerald ~ 4 in Paris was right on.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Carmague and the hosting ranch was the highlight of many many events. Additionally, the seeing the french flag fly above every building in Paris with the cloudy skies you could feel the emotion in the environment. The country is clean and a photographers dream. Lastly, the afternoon in Italy was a Tauck touch and invites us to see !

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveller

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button