TravellerReviews

Antarctica

review_img

Janette Elizabeth

What an amazing experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Everything about this trip was 5 star from the moment we landed in Buenos Aires. The Tauck tour leaders were lovely, organised and efficient, everything ran like clockwork. The boat, the Soleal, was beautifully clean, the staff were brilliant and the Expedition Team were amazing. Antarctica was stunning and we were blessed with lovely weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

Opening the curtains of our cabin on our first morning in Antarctica at Winter Island to an absolutely beautiful scene - perfectly calm water, sun rising and glowing pink on icebergs, glaciers and mountains.

review_img

Carole Rich

Adventure versus holiday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Antarctica is hard to describe .....spectacular scenery beyond expectations! The scale is massive and hard to imagine without visiting. A truly spiritual experience to see this. Unlike anything else. The "expedition" leaders were excellent with great depth of knowledge of the area and the wildlife. Small cruise ship was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the zodiac boats among the enormous icebergs and the dramatic colours of the ice.

review_img

Alec

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Tour leaders were great, all details, and there were many, were well handled. Personally, I could have skipped Buenos Aires, gone straight to Ushuaia, spent a day and got on the boat. Loved Antarctica experience. Would have liked more time in the snow and among the icebergs. Enjoyed up close and personal with the animals, especially the penguins.

Most Memorable Moment:

They were all memorable. Especially loved riding the Zodiacs among the icebergs and the sail up iceberg alley. Breathtaking.

review_img

larryllu

January 31, 2017 Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

We had a fantastic trip to Antarctica. It is beyond our expectations. Tauck did a wonderful job taking care of everything and made the trip worry free. At Antarctica, we were lucky to have good weather most of the time. Each of the landings and zodiac cruises is different and showed us various views of the land, the icebergs, wildlife, and etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say what is the most memorable moment. Everything is so exciting and memorable.

review_img

ungerer

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Wonderful trip. Made all landings and zodiac cruises and was presently surprised by the good weather. Animals, places and icebergs, ice fields and floats only seen in this part of the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

The size of the icebergs.

review_img

Bob B.

January 30, 2017 Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Our trip was otherworldly. Antarctica is unlike any other place on the earth. The weather was mild with temperatures in the low 30's. The terrain was a mix of snow/ice, rocks and volcanic ash. Even the ice packs were different. The wildlife was a variety of penguins, seals , birds and whales. All of which were not frightened by we humans.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our last landing. Arriving in a colony of chin strap penguins and a waddle of elephant seals with arctic birds circling.

review_img

EileenRH

Antarctica--The Last Continent

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

In true Tauck fashion this trip was well organised from start to finish. We enjoyed touring Buenos Aires & Tierra del Fuego Park in Ushuaia. The Tauck guides, enthusiasm of our Captain in finding whales and sea life, the shore expeditions, & lectures were insightful. We enjoyed good weather and a comfortable cruise--a truly memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The zodiac expeditions were truly spectacular, especially Specter Island and its majestic cliffs, cave, glaciers and strangely shaped icebergs. We enjoyed walking among the penguins, seeing sea lions & elephant seals and various birds. The majestic pristine splendor & beauty of remarkable Antarctica will be a lasting memory for us.

review_img

jhblack990

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This trip is difficult to describe. Antarctica is like a different planet. Just go and experience the greatest journey of your life.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, but negotiating the Drake Passage with 25-30 foot swells was something to remember.

review_img

lbluedke

Antartica---A Gem of a Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Again, we were not disappointed. Tauck always does it right and we can truthfully say "You got it right, again". Every detail was taken care of, even to the taxi transfers. The ship Le Soreal was wonderful, the guides were very attentive to our every need and concern and the excursions were more than we could have asked.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Penquins and Whales - the Captain went out of his way to make sure we got every experience with the wildlife that was possible!!!

review_img

BILLYBOY2911

Mystic Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

How many people have asked us "Why Antarctica " I am beginning to understand! Is it towering mountains with snowy glaciers running from the top to the sea. The amazing ice bergs that are never the same. Some larger than our ship, all with unique colours and shapes. Some small bergy bits that often hold seals and penguins! It is that and so much more

Most Memorable Moment:

But above all are the penguins. They capture us for hours with their antics. They walk awkwardly yet can cross rocks and snow to reach their nests sometimes hundreds of meters high on a bluff. There they hold off preying birds and hatch their eggs. Yet they frolic in the water and can jet propel them selves from the water to shore Truly mystic

review_img

2gd2btru

antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

trip of a life time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on the ice

review_img

DianaRosenal

Antarctica is a trip you do not want to miss!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

My trip was January 2017 and it was fabulous in every way. Visit that included five days of 2-times a day excursions, beautiful ship, knowledgeable naturalists who were part of excursions, interesting sessions on board to learn more about Antarctica and animals we were observing. Truly a must-do expedition!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing one of the places on earth that is not spoiled and observing the animals (penguins, seals, whales and many bird species).

review_img

weinbaum

Best. Trip. Ever.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

I don't think any trip I take will ever top this one. The sheer magnitude of what I saw is almost impossible to put into words. The silence, the untouched and unspoiled landscapes... everything was magic. We had a smooth sailing and near perfect weather. The Tauck and Ponant crews went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met.

Most Memorable Moment:

When the Captain pulled the ship into the sea ice and lowered the gang plank so we could disembark and walk on the the ice sheet was something I will never forget. The crew set up champagne and at 8PM, in full light, we enjoyed an unforgettable experience on the ice with the local residents (penguins, that is).

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you loved this amazing destination! It is so beautiful and a wonderful experience to see the wildlife in their natural habitat.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Leif H

Antarctica 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

We had a fantastic time in Antarctica this December with Tauck. Our guides in addition to the crew of the Ponant ship did a wonderful job organizing every element of the trip. The naturalists on the ship were informative and educational. I highly encourage everyone to go to Antarctica once in their lives.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was seeing all of the the wildlife - seals, whales and thousands of penguins were incredible to see in their natural habitat.

review_img

Arnold Ota

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

A fantastic trip, we will never forget. The crew on the L Austral were terrific, always there when you need them. Our tour Directors kept us busy the entire trip, informing us on all activities making sure we did not miss out on anything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lectures, zodiac cruise BBC Presentation

review_img

Swarnam

ANTARCTICA January 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Our trip to Antarctica was a trip of a lifetime and truly an expedition. The icy landscape and scenery throughout the trip was both mesmerizing, captivating and out of this world. Every aspect of the trip was expertly handled by Tauck and our awesome tour directors. The weather was perfect and the Drake passage was not as bad as expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

The penguins, Orcas and the whales were fascinating to watch as were the landscape. The Zodiac rides and excursions were exhilarating. The naturalists accompanying us were outstanding. We consider ourselves fortunate to have had this opportunity to see this magnificent continent in all its glory. It is truly a heaven on earth! Truly awesome!!!

review_img

VSudarsanam

Antarctica , Januaury 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Words cannot describe our recent expedition to Antarctica and Tauck surpassed our expectations. Kudos to our tour directors for being there for us throughout this trip. Our shore excursions were very well organised and the Naturalists on board L'Austral did an excellent job. As for the White Continent, all I can say is " Wow"!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cannot thank Mother Nature for providing us with us Paradise on Earth --- from the Glaciers to the floating Icebergs, Penguins, seals , Orcas and Humpback whales.We consider ourselves very fortunate that we were able to undertake this trip and Thank You Tauck for making this expedition a memorable one !

review_img

brendamjohnson

Very slippery boots for Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

The boots provided for onshore travel were heavy rubber with no traction on the soles. Even though we had walking poles, it was very dangerous walking on icy, hilly trails, especially when there was no path around guests who had stopped on the narrow paths to take pictures. One guest fell, and seriously injured her hand.

review_img

ONCRN

Just back from Jan.16th Antarctica Expedetion

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

This was a trip of a lifetime. Tauck took care of every detail and our leaders were awesome. The scenery was not to believed. No one could even imagine it. The naturalist on the ship were awesome! We learned so much. I have unbelievable pictures. Be sure and put your patches on early,as I did not, to prevent sea sickness.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was seeing the penguins at Port Lockroy. What a site! Weather was miserable that day, but being among those penguins made it all worth while.

review_img

TennisLover

Dream holiday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Always knew I will visit Antarctica somehow. My dream came thru and it turned out to be more than I expected. Tauck packaged it so there were a lot to experience - all the zodiac rides and excursions were so memorable and exciting. I took all the opportunities to explore; summited slippery steep hills in deep snow and saw whales within 10 feet.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking steep snow covered hills to reach the top to see the beautiful scenery. Listen to penguins, see them walk and swim and mothers feeding their babies. See the vast natural land scape so different from any other continents - I am so privileged to have given this chance to see the land so few get to see. Loved it!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad we were able to make your dream come true! Antarctica truly is an amazing place!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dereef

antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Perfect

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything

review_img

jujub

Life-changing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

It wasn't just a trip or a holiday, it was an expedition. I felt and saw, for the first time in many years of travel, the power of nature and the planet, it was overwhelming. The crew and the naturalists were enthusiastic, professional and competent. Everyone worked very hard to make the adventure successful and safe.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whales! We saw so many, and, even better, they saw us. And, well, the penguins and seals were pretty amazing, too.

review_img

Jpcdmcc

Antarctic Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

I have told my friends that Antarctica is a place that is indescribable. Unless you have been there, all the pictures in the world cannot capture the untamed beauty of the landscape, the icebergs and the wildlife. The Tauck team and the Ponant team made the experience easy and informative. The ship and especially the food were incredible. Go now.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising in our zodiac literally surrounded by humpback whales. What an incredible experience.

review_img

slojim

Antarctica--Another World

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We enjoyed the trip very much. The facilities on the ship were first class and the guides were excellent. Antarctica is almost indescribable. It's so alien that it almost seems like visiting there is a visit to another planet. Everything is starkly black and white, including almost all the animals. We highly recommend the adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it is difficult to isolate just one. Perhaps my favourite was negotiating the ice flows in a zodiac for a landing amidst hundreds of porpoising penguins.

review_img

Zulu

Mere words can't describe it

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We struggle to find the adjectives to describe the experience of Antarctica. It is so vast, so inhospitable and so spectacularly beautiful it must be experienced. It is a superb trip on so many levels: great guides, excellent accommodation, efficiently organised and an exceptional learning experience. Unforgettable in so many ways.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every penguin moment was wonderful. How can these little black and white birds make one laugh out loud as they waddle towards you, arms outstretched. Even after several thousand they were still wonderful.

review_img

Ylimb73092

My last continent

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

It really was wonderful. So pristine and beautiful. Some of my friends wondered if I would not be somewhat bored by the sameness of the landscape but they could not have been more wrong. Each area was so different. It was with a bang that I finish my continent tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Paradise Bay. Even with everyone in the Zodiac and the motor running, I could still feel alone and calm all bundled up. Absolutely lovely.

review_img

Baby Bear

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Wow, the ice capped mountains, glaciers/icebergs, and wildlife (penguins, whales, seals and sea birds) are all special for this continent. The Naturalists aboard the L'Austral were the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tabular Icebergs at 3 am in the Antarctica Sound

review_img

Penguini

Awesome Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

This has been my most memorable trip. I saw some of the most spectacular landscapes, pristine waters, beautiful icebergs, and the cutest penguins. The whole trip was unbelievably organised and we got around so effortlessly. Kudos to everyone involved from the waiters to the zodiac drivers who made this an unforgettable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing amongst the thousands of penguins and watching them waddle around was just too cute. I could have stayed there for hours. Also the B15Y iceberg was absolutely awesome!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories of this truly amazing destination! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

WalnutCA

One of our most memorable trips

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

This ranks among on best and favourite trips (Tauck Tanzania/Kenya and Japas the other two. The tour directors, ship's crew and naturalists were outstanding. As with the past, Tauck's attention to details, planning and attention to our welfare made the trip outstanding and memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our first trip and landing on the zodiacs.

review_img

Bhau

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

It was one of the most memorable trips- expeditions we did. This is our first trip with Tauck and thoroughly injoyed it. Staff was courteous friendly and very helpful during entire trip. Their knowledge about the Antarctica helped us to get more from this trip. In future we will look forward to join Tauck for more adventures !!! Smita n Bharat Bha

Most Memorable Moment:

Champagne on iceberg and 6 meters ocean waves while crossing Drake passage

TAUCK RESPONSE

Antarctica truly is an amazing destination! So glad you had a wonderful time, and we look forward to hosting you on future journeys!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

debrdavis

Journey to the bottom of the Earth

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

The overall trip was phenomenal. I'm told that our hotel in Buenos Aires was not "Tauck standard" but found the room satisfactory and the food average to poor. The tour guides were good. The LeSoleal crew was absolutely amazing. The dining room staff was the only weak link as it was always the same buffet for breakfast and lunch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lying atop the hill at Neko Harbour and seeing the climb, the cove, and animals, and the ship, and listening to the quiet!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall trip and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of the tour fell below your expectations and rest assured we will look into your comments and take any and all actions to correct these issues. Again, thank you for your patronage and we hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Randall and Donna Lau

Fantastic Journey!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

From beginning to end, this was truly a "fantastic journey!" The scenery and the fauna and flora were well worth the travel time it took to get down to Antarctica and back. The discussions on the Forums helped us to decide on renting boots and bringing walking sticks. They were both very helpful and saved weight. The ship was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The penguins on shore and on the ice, and the whales and the orcas were fascinating to observe. And the scenery was beautiful.

review_img

swarna perera

antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

IT WAS A TRIP OF A LIFETIME... FABULOUS!!!I FELT I WAS ON ANOTHER PLANET AS THE SCENERY WAS UNIQUE....HIGH SNOW COVERED MOUNTAINS, GIANT ICEBERGS, SHEETS IF SEA ICE,SEALS, ORCAS AND THOUSANDS OF PENGUINS...HARD TO BEAT... THE SHIP LA SOLEAL WAS VERY COMFORTABLE WITH EXCELLENT FOOD AND A FANTASTIC CREW INCLUDING THE CAPTAIN..GUIDES EXCELLENT.....

Most Memorable Moment:

CRUISING THROUGH GIANT ICEBERGS IN THE ZODIAC...

review_img

LRS

Best trip ever!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Antarctic was all we imagined & more. Pictures can't capture the breathtaking beauty & true feelings when closely reacting with wildlife. Standing on the seventh continent gives you a feeling of accomplishment attained by few. The Tauck guides provided a first class experience. They were always available making sure our trip was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on an Ice Flow in the Weddell Sea was so special that you could sense the feeling of adventure of the explorers who preceded us.

review_img

PAOttawa

Tauck Antarctica / BBC Earth

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Amazing trip - well organised; wonderful Tour Directors; great ship & crew, & naturalist staff; spectacular location. Disappointment - Expected more from BBC Earth element; other than three short BBC Earth films (not available to clients afterwards) and availability of some equipment, no real connection to BBC Earth or BBC Earth staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to identify just a single experience/moment: "Champagne on ice" took on a whole new meaning when taking a cocktail on an ice floe in the Weddell Sea! Experiencing moments of quiet and contemplation in one of, if not the harshest and most desolate environments on Earth.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall trip and returned with som many memorable moments. We are sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of the journey and will certainly bring your comments to the attention of management. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope you will with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Vickery

Beautiful Antarctica in Summer- Jan. 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We had wonderful weather for over 3/4 of our trip with sunny blue skies and temperatures in the 30's. We had awesome, informative, naturalists, a great team insuring our safety getting on and off the Zodiacs, and great food and drink aboard the Le Soleal with wonderful service.

Most Memorable Moment:

There we so many memorable moments - 1.Seeing up close 3 different types of the Penguins nesting in their natural habit with their chicks. 2. Seeing 3 different kinds of whales up close. 3.Seeing 4 different types of Seals up close. 4. Seeing the different birds of Antarctica., a 4.Seeing the absolutely beautiful scenery and blue ice burgs.

review_img

jkr

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

This was a fabulous trip! The scenery was stunning, the animal life amazing, and I learned so much through the talks and excursions with the naturalists. The Tauck guides, ship, and crew were outstanding, meals were excellent, and there was excellent attention to safety issues at all times.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick any one memorable moment, for there were so many. But I will always remember the evening that the boat was surrounded by some 15 humpback whale, making their bubble nets and feeding on crill right beside us! Thanks to the captain for just stopping and letting us watch!

review_img

GordonJ

Living Our Dream in Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Our tour directors were total professionals and a pleasure to be with. Their planning down to the last detail and the information fed to us meant we didn't have to worry about a single thing. You guys were absolutely magnificent. You enabled us to enjoy our life long dream to visit Antarctica and this will be the first of many trips, we use Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

Firstly, the privilege we felt when we placed our feet on the continent of Antarctica. Second, would be when we sailed into Antarctica waters and saw the majesty of the unspoilt land around us. It was truly humbling and the words have not been invented yet to adequately describe how you feel when you enter this most beautiful part of our world.

review_img

nradams

Buenos Aires and Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

In every way the trip was perfect. Antarctica exceeded my expectations in terms of the beauty of the sights. The success of the trip is directly attributable to the dedication and hard work of our Tauck Directors (Stacy, Bill, and ??).

Most Memorable Moment:

Doing the landings in Antarctica

review_img

OlySue

ANTARCTICA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

This is a wonderful and unique trip. The couple of days in BA allow time to catch your breath before sailing. The ship is extremely comfortable and staff more than accommodating. But the main event is Antarctica - and it is amazing. Days are full, scenery is breathtaking, landings are varied and more penguins than you can imagine.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not just one moment but here are a few: Landing on an ice flow. The sheer number of penguins on Paulet Island. The evening when humpbacks & orcas were all around the ship feeding. The Zodiac cruise in Paradise Bay. So many moments!

review_img

JGB12

Antarctica January 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

When you combine travelling to the most beautiful and surreal place on the planet with a fantastic tour company, a beautiful modern ship, great food, wonderful guides and naturalists, and some of the nicest fellow travellers I have ever met, there is nothing else to improve on.

Most Memorable Moment:

Landing on an ice flow was an added bonus and the icing on the cake !!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time on tour!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jimmy parker

Far exceeded our expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Everything about this trip was "top-notch" from beginning to end. It was well-organized and executed by all involved. The tours and tour directors were professional, helpful, informative, attentive, and pleasant. The ship staff was outstanding and the Naturalists on board were amazing. It was such an amazing adventure. So glad we did it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting up close to the thousands of Penguins, Seals, birds and whales.

review_img

ShelleyM

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Absolutely breathtaking. Going through Drake's passage was worth it. It made it feel like more of an adventure. The landscape truly takes your breath away. The ship was lovely and the daily adventures in the zodiacs were fabulous. I wouldn't take the patch for sea sickness--just get the shot from the ship's doctor.

Most Memorable Moment:

Coming upon the first icebergs after Drake's passage. They are enormous.

review_img

ronbrea

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Tauck tour leaders were fantastic. Our hotel in Buenos Aires was very comfortable. The Drake Passage crossing was a little rough, but manageable. We were lucky to have had great weather. The landings and zodiac tours were all memorable. Kudos to the expedition guides. Amazing scenery and wildlife. Humpbacks, orcas, penguins, seals.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first landing on the Antarctic Peninsula. We experienced wind, snow, clouds and sun.

review_img

Jacqui1115

Amazing Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

It was amazing. Le Soleal was such a beautiful ship. Everything was perfect, from the food and wine to the whale sightings to the thousands of penguins all around to the Zodiac tours and hikes around land. I was in awe at how magnificent the white continent is!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing two humpback whales ten feet away from the Zodiacs was my most memorable moment. They are huge yet so graceful.

review_img

malevi

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Words and pictures can not describe the beauty and grandeur of the white continent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stepping onto the Antarctica

review_img

jamalqua

Antarctica with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

The ship was just the right size for an expedition, and the Expedition Crew was fantastic. I can't imagine it being any better. The three Tauck Tour Directors worked extremely well together, and every aspect of the trip worked like a well oiled machine. It was the trip of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

Spotting Humpback Whales, and spending many hours watching their movements feeding. Of course seeing them among the beautiful ice flows made it spectacular.

review_img

carlisle

antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

excellent experience. Both the Tauck directors and the ship personnel did everything possible to make this trip safe, comfortable, and fun. The naturallists were eager to teach. There were some lectures but could have been more. The trip is somewhat physically challenging in that you must be able to "suit up" and get in and out of a Zodiac.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our first whale sighting.

review_img

Bill Steinberg

Classic Antartica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

It took a while to convince my wife to go on this trip. She said, "how many penguins can you see?" Well, by the end, after seeing 100s of penguins, she would have been happy to have more time to keep watching them. Of course, we saw dramatic ice and snow covered vistas, blue icebergs, many whales and much more. It was a really unique and great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two. The day where it was so warm and sunny that we left our parkas, hats and gloves on the snow to be collected after we finished our climb up for a super view. The other was when two whales came up within a 100 yards of our Zodiac. The sightings of whales from the ship were one thing but up close and personal is much more dramatic.

review_img

RJWALDO

Awesome!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

We were amazed by the sights, sounds and colours. The zodiac exxcursions were all interesting and informative. The naturalists were all so passionate about the sea life, birds, mammals and history of Antarctica. Their enthusiasm was infectious. The Captain of Le Boreal was equally as passionate and enthusiastic….to the point of waking us @ 7am!

Most Memorable Moment:

Observing the humpbacks and orcas so close to the ship.

review_img

John Broadhead

Antartica Expedition

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

The expedition was very well organised with plenty of information on the day before each activity. We managed to experience so much in Buenos Aires, Ushuaia and Antarctica to leave us with such great memories. The hotel in Buenos Aires was excellent and the coach tours around Buenos Aires by expert guides provided us with so much information.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first landing on the South Shetland Islands at Half Moon Bay

review_img

DKretz

Incredible Adventure to Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

I booked with Tauck for the trip to Antarctica in February 2014. This was my first time travelling with Tauck and the experience was great. Tauck truly takes care of everything on the trip and we always had a director available in case we had any issues or requests. Especially appreciated the included gratuities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Landing on the mainland of Antarctica. This was the 7th continent for both myself and my father and was a very memorable moment.

review_img

Miata6

Antarctica Great! But High Effort Getting There.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Five Days in Antarctica but: 4 days travel to and from, 3 days in Buenos Aires, and 4 days in the Drake Passage (which can be fun!). Plus lots of early rises, long days, and seemingly empty time, none of which is Tauck's fault. They were wonderful and did everything possible for their guests to make an exhausting itinerary doable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the landing on an ice floe (flow?) with champagne and about six indolent crabeater seals on the ice floating in the sea.

review_img

Nancy

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Fantastic trip! We had a great ship, captain, tour directors (Bill, Bill & Allison). Weather was exceptional and we had 11 landings from the Zodiaks. One piece of advice…bring a walking stick no matter who you are, the icy conditions and deep snow can be unbalancing. It was a trip of a lifetime…don't miss it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not enough words to describe the feeling of being in the Antarctic…the whale sightings, the seals on the icebergs, the penguins everywhere…the marvel of the great white continent! A remarkable trip (our 7th with TAUCK…would love to repeat this trip!

review_img

Santasandy

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

In a word it was amazing! The scenery was like nothing I have ever seen--such pristine sights. The service couldn't have been better. Le Boreal was a wonderful "hotel," etc. Buenos Aires was the perfect starting and finishing point. And the animals took my breath away. I'm usually not this effusive but there was nothing usual about this.

Most Memorable Moment:

That would have to be the first time I saw the penguins. I have never seen them other than in zoos; it took my breath away when we approached the South Shetland Islands and saw both Chinstrap and Gentoo penguins. I was not aware of the different kinds (of penguins) until Mick Brown's fascinating presentation that morning. Simply nbelievable.

review_img

fjcharles

Antarctica!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Flew to Buenos Aires to start a terrific visit to Antarctica. Spent 1 1/2 days visiting the city, then departed to Ushuaia to board the LeBoreal, cross the Drake Passage, and land on the Antarctica Peninsula. Weather was superb; ran 32-37F every day except the last one before returning to Argentina. We were able to make 10-11 Zodiac landings!

Most Memorable Moment:

Stepping off of the Zodiac boat onto the Antarctica continent; my seventh continent! Close second was being able to cross the Antarctic Circle, an extra bonus.

review_img

Janice K

Antarctica, Beauty and Challenges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Our expedition to Antarctica surprised us with its beauty and challenges. It has become one of the favorites of our 33 Tauck tours. The landscape is amazing. The naturalists were great at describing it and the wildlife. They and the Tauck Directors got us safely on the landings and the Zodiacs. Be prepared to hike on snow, ice and rocks, but go.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sharing an ice flow with seals while drinking champagne. Also walking near hundreds of penguins and seeing the little chicks. Celebrating my (Howie) 80th birthday with the Captain on our way to Antarctica. Crossing the Antarctic Circle.

review_img

DEhrhard

My 5th Tauck tour everyone better than the last

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Wonderful hotels,suerior service,sensational ship,glorious weather,magnificent wildlife, brilliant naturalists, awesome food, concerned tour leaders. I'm out of adjectives. I only wish I had done it sooner but then it wouldn't have been this exact trip which was as close to perfect as it could be.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably being among the delightful penguins.

review_img

Tapper

Outstanding trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

We just returned from the 1/29 departure to Antarctica. Wow! We had great weather and the scenery was spectacular all through Antarctica. The expeditions were excellent. We made two landings every day. Boat was very good with great staff. Buenos Aires was warm and rainy. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lots of them. Drake Passage was easy for us both ways. The endless awesome icebergs are amazing. Every expedition was an experience. Penguins,whales,seals,etc. Met a bunch of great people on this trip. The ship and crew were very nice. Being able to go up to the bridge and watch for extended periods was a new experience.

review_img

Bob_In_FL

My Review of Tauck Tour to Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

I was a single traveller and this was my first Tauck Tour. Let me say first that over if I sound a little "negative" in my writing, I'm not. It is just me and what I'm use to here in the US. The tour was by every account 1st CLASS. I worry a lot and Tauck took care of everything. All I had to do was land in Argentina and they took over.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think waking up on day 2 of the boat and seeing first signs of life again with birds and then penguins passing by the ship.

review_img

Pa Bill

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Trip of a lifetime So different from any other trip I have taken Wildlife and scenery were fantastic

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Hannah Point and the variety of wildlife Also drinking champagne on an iceberg

review_img

Vonz

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Fantastic trip, GREAT travel group, accommodations hotel/ship and knowledgeable tour guides. Look forward to travelling again and again with Tauck and hope to meet you on one of those upcoming trips!

Most Memorable Moment:

The amazing sights of Antarctica's wild life and glaciers. The many sights of Buenos Aires also.

review_img

horst31

Antartica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

It was fantastic!!! We had a great group, made new friends and you have 2 jewels in Susan and Stacy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every Day.

review_img

Traveling4fun

Antarctica... trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

My husband and I travelled in late January / early February. We went a day early and were very glad we did. It allowed for time to explore Buenos Aires on our own for a day. The La Boreal, her captain and crew were fantastic. 24/7 access to the bridge throughout the cruise. The trip was breathtaking and the Tauck team made it even better.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many incredible moments so it's hard to select one. Boarding the Zodiacs to speed out in search of wildlife and finding so many creatures (penguins, whales, seals, etc.) was amazing. The views were spectacilar; every minute was a photo opportunity. It's been two months since we retuned and we are still talking about this great trip.

review_img

D_Pauls

Very Disappointing Tour to Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

We were very disappointed with this tour. 1. We had breakfast at 3:00 a.m. on 2nd day in Buenos Aires and did not get another meal until 2 pm in Ushuaia. 11 hours between meals. There were some stale sweets on the plane, but what if there were diabetics in the group? They would have been in serious trouble. More to say, but Review won't allow

Most Memorable Moment:

The night of the rogue wave in Drake's Passage. Did not like the Ship, and will never take another company Ponant ship. Very badly planned ship. Very cramped rooms, everyone was complaining. I have lots more to say about the problems with this tour, but I know review won't allow it. We have taken 24 Tauck Tours, and are concerned.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're very sorry to hear your time aboard Le Boreal fell well below your expectations. A Guest Relations manager will be reaching out to you directly to discuss your concerns further. Again our apologies as we truly value your continued loyalty and patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

halurban

Adventure, natural beauty, and fabulous food

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Three days in the fabulous city of Buenos Aires in the summer is hard to beat. The hotel and the food were frosting on the cake. The French ship La Boreal was perfect for the trip to Antarctica. Everyone on board was efficient, friendly, and helpful. Our excursions onto land - 11 in 5 days - were extremely well organised. Food was terrific.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of the excursions onto land and the Zodiac rides.

review_img

Bill C

More than Terra Nova

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

From Sir Francis Drake to Shackleton and Byrd. It’s a pity that none of them experienced the rewards of travelling Antarctica with Tauck’s competent trio of tour directors in Le Boreal luxury. It is more than another continent; it is as if exploring another planet where residents compete for survival with each other and a hostile environment.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the peaks of the Drake Passage with 40 knot winds, 60 knot gusts and 10 meter seas on the trip north I remember wondering how the HMS Beagle could survive - PRICELESS!

review_img

Robert and Mary from Maryland

Magnificent Antarctica

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

We eagerly anticipated our trip to Antarctica and found it to be everything and more than we imagined. The Tauck Tour Directors, Dale, Susan, and Stacy, were very helpful and their presence complimented the work of the naturalists who had responsibility for the daily expeditions. We saw and and experienced this frozen yet vibrant land firsthand.

Most Memorable Moment:

We witnessed the exciting chase of a Minke whale by a group of at least six Orcas. We were told by the naturalists that this was something rarely seen even by those who travel to Antarctica frequently.

review_img

sharonstrochak

Antarctic on Le Boreal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

The very best trip ever. Antarctic is magnificent, Le Boreal the perfect ship for this journey. From start to finish Tauck did a superior job, even assuring that we did not have too a long wait at the airport by providing a late lunch and show before our homeward journey. Guides Susan, Stacy and Dale were excellent. Thanks Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on an iceberg was magical!

review_img

PatRickTravlrs

Penguins, Seals and Whales, Oh My!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This trip was absolutely phenomenal! The scenery is spectacular; getting up close and personal with the penguins is a delight. We took close to 2300 pix, including some wonderful critter close-ups. The three Tauck tour directors did their usual superb job, including providing us with a trip CD containing photos of all tour participants.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opportunity to see and photograph a one-hour old penguin chick; and the chance to ride the zodiac and "land" atop an ice floe.

review_img

Bob the Traveller

Antarctic Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Nothing but positives to say about Tauck's Antarctic Adventure on the Expedition ship Le Boreal. Your three tour directors, Susan, Stacy, and Dale were superb. There was no doubt that our comfort, safety, and pleasure were their main concerns. The Captain and his crew were courteous and efficient. Antarctica is truly another world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Landing on my seventh continent

review_img

Rowena

Antarctica Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

It was a very enjoyable adventure of a lifetime. It had exceeded my expectations. My two sisters and I had such a great time together beyond belief. What a great adventure indeed! Our "fearless leaders" Tauck Directors Bill and Rob were just awesome. They had done just a fantastic job on board LE BOREAL and on the expeditions.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was the landing in Aitcho, Shetland Island. The penguins in Aitcho were sociable. It was just amazing! My sisters and I had enjoyed our Le Boreal suite cabin with balcony. We had seen a family of whales at a very close distance. I thought the whales were following the ship till Captain Garcia announced we were following the whales.

review_img

ctd33

Fantastic voyage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Wow, what can one say about such a wonderful trip. It was nice that Tauck arranged for calm seas at least two days in the Drake Passage. Tour directors matched our best in the past. Whales, seals, albatros, penguins...what else could one ask for. We got more than we expected. We loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending our anniversary on a Zodiac with champagne on Valentine's Day. Wonderful weather, wonderful guests, great scenes, all in one day.

review_img

Berlinerin

Dream of Dreams!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

With a guidance of expert naturalists on board Le Boreal, a crew of knowledgeable sailors guided by an enthusiastic French captain, and two of Tauck's experienced guides whose warmth and fun was shared with our group, we sailed to the White Continent to discover and experience many firsts. Truly a dream come to reality. Many, many thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

More than one moment: A sweet, innocent moment shared with a friendly, downy, baby penguin; the crackling of colliding ice floes; the explosion of calving ice bergs; the towering mountains of nature's icy continent.

review_img

2 Farmers

Antartica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were not disappointed. There was so much more to see and do than we ever expected in this land of ice and snow. We really like being able to go ashore usually twice a day with some extra time to explore on our own too. The people on the cruise ship were the best and really made life on the ship an event

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to say. It was the most unusual trip that we have ever taken and completed the 7 continents for us both. We sure did learn a lot from all of the naturalists that we were not expecting. Walking through a seal group was an unexpected thrill when we had to change our landing because of the weather. The weather was warmer than we thought

review_img

LEstok

Antarctica January 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Antarctica was a fantastic expedition. Our trip on LeBoreal was a luxurious experience on a small ship. Captain and crew were great. Crossing Drake Passage was an experience not to be forgotten but worth it once we saw the PENGUINS! They were unbelievable. Cute, playful, exhibitionists, and just delightful. Also saw a whale breech 31 times.

Most Memorable Moment:

Gearing up and setting foot on Antarctica while seeing and smelling thousands and thousands of Penguins.

review_img

hal

Antarctic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

The Tauck tour leaders, Rob and Bill, were terrific as they always are. The Cruise Line working staff were fantastic, but the organization of the landings and the briefings by the ships cruise director left something to be desired. The ship itself was terrific and we had a good time. I think the food was of great quality, but it was not always prepared the way Americans like their food cooked. Overall it was a very nice trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments. The most exciting were when the ship was travelling through very rough waters. This definitely added a sense of adventure and thrill to the experience. The scenery was amazing and the trips to shore were wonderful.

review_img

joev

Antarctica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

A wonderful, wonderful once in a life time trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but just seeing the Antarctica area will remain with me forever.

review_img

annelladorn

best ever tou

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2011

Still rates as my absolute best trip. One just cannot improve on Mother Nature. The Naturalist talks will stay with me. The tour directors first rate.

Most Memorable Moment:

just being there!! After being on my wish list many years

close-button

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveller

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button